Connect with us:

Popular News


Who took home the prestigious Oscar trophy this year?

Feb 25 2013 5:01PM

grab news rssSubscribe

On Sunday, 24th February, the 85th Academy Awards was held. It was a star-studded glitzy event. Here we have all the trophy winners at one shot.

Directors Mark Andrews and Brenda Chapman's Brave won the best animated feature film award. The film's story is about a high-spirited Scottish princess Merida, who resists her mother's efforts to transform her into a more ladylike young woman.

Christoph Waltz picked up the best supporting actor trophy for Django Unchained at the 85th Academy Awards ceremony. Waltz, 56, played Dr. King Schultz, a German bounty hunter in the pre-Civil War South who buys a slave to assist him with his work, in Quentin Tarantino's Django Unchained. This is Waltz's second Oscar award. He won the first for his supporting role in the 2009 film "Inglorius Basterds".

Ang Lee's "Life of Pi", a fantasy adventure drama widely shot in India, won the award for best cinematography and best visual effects. Claudio Miranda received the cinematography award. It is his first Oscar award, but he had received his first nomination for the 2008 film "The Curious Case of Benjamin Button". Bill Westenhofer, Guillaume Rocheron, Erik-Jan De Boer and Donald R. Elliott collected the Best Visual Effects trophy. Jacqueline Durran bagged the best achievement in costume design trophy for the film Anna Karenina. Indian vocalist Bombay Jayashri, who was nominated in the best original song category for her track "Pi Lullaby" from "Life of Pi", lost the trophy to British singer Adele, who took home the statuette for Skyfall. However, the film won the best music - original score award. "Life of Pi" has won Ang Lee his second Oscar trophy for best director. In his acceptance speech, Lee thanked his producers, "Indian crew" and all technicians who worked on the movie. "Suraj, where are you?" he said, and the cameras panned to Suraj Sharma, the 19-year-old Delhi boy, who made his acting debut with the movie. He waved at Lee with joy. He thanked Suraj before ending with a warm "Namaste".

The best achievement in makeup and hairstyling went to Lisa Westcott and Julie Dartnell for "Les Miserables".

Austrian drama "Amour" bagged the prestigious Oscar award for the best foreign language film. Directed by Michael Haneke, the movie is about an old couple - two retired music teachers - and their life after the woman becomes partially paralysed. This is the category for which India had sent Barfi! as a contestant. However, the film couldn't make it to the Top 9 films at the Oscars.

Two films - Skyfall and "Zero Dark Thirty" shared the best sound editing award, and "Les Miserables" clinched the best sound mixing trophy. Per Hallberg and Karen Baker Landers picked the award for Skyfall, while Paul N.J. Ottosson received it for "Zero Dark Thirty".

Actress Anne Hathaway walked away with best actress in a supporting role Oscar for "Les Miserables" at the gala ceremony. In the film directed by Tom Hooper, Hathaway plays a young mother, Fantine, who loses her job in a factory and struggles to find money to support her daughter. The actress got emotional as she gave her acceptance speech, thanking family, and the film's cast and crew. Hathaway had also won the Golden Globe and BAFTA award in the same category earlier.

Adele, who performed Skyfall at the glitzy ceremony on Sunday night, collected her award with Paul Epworth.

Ben Affleck's Argo walked away with the best writing - adapted screenplay award. Filmmaker Quentin Tarantino won the best original screenplay for Django Unchained.

Daniel Day-Lewis and Jennifer Lawrence won the best actor and best actress awards respectively at the 85th Academy Awards held here Sunday night. While Lawrence won for her role in "Silver Linings Playbook", Day-Lewis bagged it for "Lincoln".

US First Lady Michelle Obama announced Ben Affleck's directorial venture Argo as the best film at the 85th Academy Awards. Michelle Obama introduced the nominations and the winner via a video conference from White House. The team of Argo - co-producers Grant Heslov, Ben Affleck and George Clooney - collected the trophy.

[Note: For Any clarification on news, contact us via this link, or write to us: content(AT)]

grab news rssSubscribe
Here are the Oscar trophy winners

Write a comment (Facebook)

Comments (0)

Write a comment (gomolo)

For Any clarification on news, contact us via this link, or write to us: content(AT)